The Unexpected!

Yesterday, my husband, Cliff called me at work.

“Do you want to go to Gerald’s retirement party tonight?”

Always up for an adventure, I said “Sure!….who’s Gerald?”

Cliff went on to explain that he is a guy in the oil field who Cliff works with on occasion and this was his farewell party after 26 years of faithful service..  I probably wouldn’t know anyone there, but then again my family is convinced that I had visited with everyone in the Portland airport.  (Let the record show, it was just all the people at our gate.)

We drive the 25 miles to Hardtner, KS.  We wove through some snazzy cars to get to the front door.  (I am sure there are still drool marks across the hoods from Cliff and his cousin checking them out.)  Inside was a great buffet and I got to reaquaint with some old friends and met a few new ones.   It was a great low key night.

What was interesting was Gerald.  Cliff had explained to me that Gerald is a steady guy, who does his job faithfully and never gets too wound when the wheels fall off.  He just trusts it will be ok and does what he is asked to do.  Tonight he sat quitely in a chair with a kind of dazed look on his face.  Since I didn’t know the man, I played with the idea that maybe that was just him.  As the evening wore on, Gerald and I were thrown together.  A huge smile played at his mouth as he said “Did you see my retirement gift?”  Suddenly, his eyes danced as they broke through his glazed look.  Come to find out the brand new, shiny, bright red Camero outside was his!  He calmly went on to say that he had had to sacrifice his ’67’ back many years ago to pay the bills and feed his family.   His boss had surprised him with this treasure-the long awaited desire of his heart and he was still in shock. .  All evening he wandered around with that dazed look and had bruises up and down his arms from pinching himself.

I asked if he had driven it yet.  Yes, up the highway a few miles and around Hardtner which could have taken all of 5 minutes if he drove really slow. I don’t think he trusted himself just let loose in it!

It got my imagination going.  I wonder if that is what it will be like when the Lord turns to His faithful and says “well done good and faithful servant,”  Whatever comes as a reward will pale in the awesomeness of His appreciation.  How dazed will we be?  How long will it take for it to sink in He trusted us enough to do His work even though He was the one who equipped us and led us the entire time?  Hmmmmm…. How does thinking about the possibility affect my actions today.

Just something to think about…..

One thought on “The Unexpected!

Leave a Reply

