The Coveted Secrets of My Bracketology System

March of 1988: an 8 month very pregnant me was introduced to the joys of University of Kansas Basketball.  As the NCAA national championship game was full of exciting thrills and chills, I realized I had somehow downed a whole pound Hershey bar during the action.   That’s how hooked I was.  Kicking up the fun a notch I entered the bracket craze.  I hate to brag, but I have had my fair share of success in the picking game.  Make room at the table Dickie V, Bobby Knight, and Digger.  I am sliding in.  Be ready to be amazed and astounded.

I have weighed the pros and cons of sharing my system, but realize I can not keep this to myself.  This unique system baffles the mega-minds of any one truly serious about the tournament-ie Cliff and Cole.  So grab your bracket as I share my secret bracketology methodology.

March Madness begins with Gonzaga.  Every year if they make the tournament, they always win at least one round because I just love to say “Gon-za-ga!”  Try it.  You will see the no brainer here.

Duke is pretty good this year, but I don’t have them winning it all, because I do not like their mascot-The Blue Devils.  Right up there with the Dodge City Demons.  That sinister painted mascot was so creepy as it peered down from the water tower  that overlooked the town.  Gork me out!  Mix in Coach K’s getting to too old to rock that jet black dye job on his follicles.  Too scary to be the National Champs.

One year I picked Ocean Pacific, who I had going a little ways no matter what their sede.  What a great sounding place for a vacation!  San Diego State is definitely at least an Elite Eight pick because that’s where Cliff’s cousins live and one of my life long friends, Romy.  Florida has the vacation vote as well.  Mix that in with my daughter Casey’s great stories about watching the Space Shuttle go off there this last month.  That combo could be an beatable recipe for any of their opponents.

Everyone loves Ohio State, but me.  Don’t see it happening for them.  If the ex-fiance that done-my-baby-wrong was a huge fan and had my dad had not had an Ohio-ian girlfriend drop the news about Santa to my little brother, I could have considered them.  Fatal blows to their Final Four future.  They are not just toast-they are burnt beyond recognition toast.   Let it be written-Ohio messed with my family.  No Championship for you! On the other hand is the University of North Carolina-yes, I still like them because I like Roy Williams.  I know many from this great state still want to cut down his net, but he left KU for his family.  If he would sacrifice his fame for his fam, his team is one I have a soft spot.   They will be at least Sweet Sixteeners.

Pittsburg will do ok.  My friend, Michaela, is helping out the area with her presence, so it’s a go for them.  Bucknell I will have going at least one round.  Anyone who would beat KU like a rug way back when deserves the respect of at least one round.  Texas is a given since  one of the best summers of my life I worked at  a church camp in Happy, TX .

Let’s talk Kansas State University.  The rivals of all time for KU.  Believe it or not, I like them.  I am proud of them.  I enjoy watching them.  They have shown moxy this year and fought their way through great challenges.  I will push them along for a while, but I am sorry, they aren’t taking the trophy home. ‘ Why?’ you ask.  Check out those uniforms.  Gray??? Blah, blah, blah.  Who’s idea was that?  Where is the energy?  They need crispness and colors that ‘pop’ to be national champs.  Kind of like American Idol; one has to look at the whole package.  I’m thinking of having a bake sale to help them out with new threads by next season.

I could go on, but I think you are feeling it and can take it from here.  Good luck!  It really is a gift that is not to be taken lightly.

Charles Barkley would laugh me out of the gym with my seemingly ‘ridiculous’ theories and success.  I am definitely an example of “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise; the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.’ 1 Cor. 1:19.  On the other hand, I can’t get too big for my basketball britches.  I have found that when I proclaim that I am the smartest person alive in no time I am greatly humbled.   “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8   Thank goodness!  If the world is depending on me we are all in trouble.

Enjoy these next few weeks as the Jayhawks work their way to victory, because -great uniforms, cool town, my daughter taught Tyrel Reed, the funnest mascot, and a whole host of other critical ‘kelology’ reasons. Rock Chalk!

One thought on “The Coveted Secrets of My Bracketology System

Leave a Reply

