The Bifocal Debacle-How to Adjust to Vision Impossible

                           I did it.  I got brave and requested bifocals.

The readers have done me well, although they spent a lot of time on my head or accessorized the neckline of my shirt.  It has been a take-it-or-leave it option I embraced.  Most generally I left a trail of the cheaters wherever I went, but lately they were never with me when I really needed to see a menu or tried to read anything.  Besides my arms have gotten shorter and repeating “Go, Go Gadget arms” does not work.

My reluctance is not linked to mortality issues about getting older.  I know they can be  like the first neon sign pointing to middle age.  I’m either in denial or too senile to get wound up about it. Proudly I could sport my Grandma Olive’s cat-eyes around the Lodge.  It was the personal testimonies that blind-sided me.  Wanting to be able to see sounded pretty iffy from all the reports I have heard of people taking the plunge into the land of split-level vision.  “The floor was higher.”  “I walked like a drunk.” “The headaches!” “I will never get used to them.” “I almost broke my neck going down stairs!”  ” I swear I got seasick every time I put them on.”  One of the scariest was “I spent $450 and have never worn them.”  Yikes!  The last card of 3 readers cost me $8.  Alas, common sense said I would never find out unless I tried.

After getting a routine check up and prescription in hand, I met an angel with a Wal-Mart name tag that read “Bobbi”.  I told her what my concerns were and she gave me tips the optometrist’s office never shared.   No one would stumble like they had drunk a fifth of Jack Daniels on her watch.  Confessing that she experienced three months of the twitchiest eyes in the West, she would be the Jed-eye Master and I would be Luka Eyewalker. (Sorry, could not resist!)

Here is what I learned:

1. Follow your nose-Wherever you are going, keep your eyes on the target.  This works going up and down stairs, and judging distances.  In a hurry, it’s hard to remember and stumbles are bound to happen.

2. Don’t expect perfection from the get-go.  Have patience.

3. This kind of goes with #2. Ease into it.  If your eyes get tired or you get frustrated, put down the specs and try again later.

4. I had assumed I knew how the bifocal was arranged.  Boy, was I wrong.  There are all sorts of zones for distance, closer for computer work, and one for reading.  Some areas to the sides are just plain lens.  Make sure the frames will be big enough to accommodate the needs of the lenses.  If you pick tiny frames, there isn’t enough space to get all the prescription zones that are required.  That doesn’t mean you must have frames the size of lab goggles.  Ask the eye care center for a guide to let you know if they fall in that range.  Education and communication opened a whole world for me on this.

Bobbi assured me she is there for my near-sighted adventure.  If I have any problems, adjustments can be made quite easily. We even hugged, which is really unique for this my-space person.

The results?  I have had somebody’s signature collection eyewear for less than a week. I am so thankful I jumped on this when I did, before I needed a stronger prescription.  Getting the hang of them hasn’t been too bad at all.  In bed at night I revert to the readers.  If that’s what works for me and it’s not damaging my eyes, I’m cool with the system.

These lessons remind me a lot about life in general.  As you read through them again, I invite you to think about the parallels. Focusing our faith on Christ as a target suddenly life gets crisper and cleaner.

The complimentary scratch resistant coating  is we never leave his sight-ever! I lift my eyes to the hills-where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip-he who watches over you will not slumber.  Psalm 121:1-3

Where’s my gross of readers now?  I happen to notice Cliff is using them quite a bit.  He seems to be  is quite partial to the black ones with white polka dots.

photo credit: mrnobody.tumblr.com
Leave a Reply

