When Being So-So is Anything But

2-4-13 Mom's 019 Do you have someone who you swear shares the same brain with you? Like identical thinking twins, to the point that it strikes you both as quite eerie?

I don’t mean your spouse or bestest friends ever. They tend to compliment, confer, confide, and some times confront the good, the great, and the sometimes whacked out ramblings that ping through the noggin like a renegade pin-ball. While there are things in common, the differences give the relationship sparks.

My thought is more in the lines of Dr. Frankenstein putting mixing bowls with multi-colored wires on both of your heads and flipping the switch.

No lights would blink, and no smoke detectors would beep, because there would be nothing different to transfer.

Before you file committal papers and ship me to see the good Doctor for a jolt, let me give you an example. Mine is my cousin, So-so, or Phyllis, as most call her. We look nothing alike, but So and I have this uncanny connection that baffles both of us. Rarely, do we see each other, but when we do, our spidey-senses become glaringly clear through our humor, timing, how we comfort each other, our personality quirks and tastes, how we finish each other’s sentences…and the list goes on.

In fact, I pushed my knows-me-inside-and-out friend to go visit with So, ‘because it’ll be like hanging out with another Me.’ Her eyes shrieked in terror. Could the world really handle two of us? I’m afraid I keep my buddy’s hands of friendship full as a solo act.

Recently, this rather unflattering picture was taken of us.

Privately conferring with each other, are we discussing someone’s unbecoming outfit or a tumbleweed of a hairstyle? Though we have the potential for much worse, I cannot remember the conversation, let alone a darn thing we would have said under the category of extreme tackiness that the tattling photo is capturing.

Therefore, I email it to So to see if she has an inkling and ask for a caption.

This is what came back: “Loved it!!! It made me think of the scene in Steel Magnolias where they’re at the wedding reception discussing the woman not wearing a girdle and the one woman says, ‘It looks like two pigs fighting under a blanket!’ And Dolly Parton says, ‘I haven’t left the house without Lycra on these hips since I was 16.’ Someone else says, ‘Your Momma raised you right.’ That’s what we look like we’re looking at and discussing.”

Exactly! Cracked me up and creeped me out in one fatal swoop.

Only one other soul knows how the conversation really went. Psalm 139 tells me that he “searched me and and knows me. You know when I sit and I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar…..you are familiair with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O’ Lord.”

Creepy, convicting, and comforting. He’s so far from taking a mere ‘so-so’ role in our lives.

Search me, O’God and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23-24

5 thoughts on “When Being So-So is Anything But

  1. I’m glad I was in the kitchen so-so you weren’t talking about me! I know by the looks on your faces this is what was said: Kelly: Who does she think she is? Phyllis (So-So): Well, that’s just what I was thinking! See-you both were thinking the same thing like you were saying!

Leave a Reply

